Drunk Driving Laws In North Carolina

North Carolina drunk driving laws are perhaps some of the harshest and most difficult to understand. And even though getting arrested for a DWI is becoming a more common offense, it is nonetheless embarrassing and difficult to get through without legal help.

On top of that, there are severe DMV, state and insurance penalties for being convicted of a DWI. The North Carolina District Attorney's Office also takes DWI charges very seriously and will almost never offer a plea bargain in such cases. That is why it is so important to get counsel when charged with a DWI.

How A Greensboro Defense Lawyer Can Help

The sooner you consult with an attorney after being charged with DWI the better. After being charged, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days – even before you have a court date – under what is called a "civil revocation."

In most cases, our law office will be able to assist you in getting your driving privileges back in as little as 10 days. In addition to getting you back on the road sooner, it is important to discuss your case while the facts are still fresh in your mind.

At Coalter Law, PLLC, we will never assume that you are guilty without first looking at all of the facts. Law enforcement officers have many requirements that must be met in order for you to be convicted. We will make sure that all procedures were followed before counseling you to enter into any sort of plea arrangement. We will also counsel you on what to expect throughout the process, and be with you every step of the way.

Taking Your Case To Trial

In some cases, a plea deal is not a good option, which is something you will determine in your own case after speaking with a qualified defense attorney. Ultimately, we leave the decision up to you after counseling you on all of your options.

If you plead guilty or your case goes to trial and you are found guilty, know that we will assist you in doing everything possible to make the punishment as light as possible. It is important for you to remember that DWI convictions can carry extremely harsh penalties under certain circumstances. Lengthy jail or prison sentences are not uncommon for multiple offenders.

Though a DWI conviction might cause you to lose your license, you may be eligible for limited driving privileges through a court petition. We will assist you with getting that privilege if you are eligible.

Contact Our Greensboro Criminal Defense Lawyers

To schedule you free initial consultation, contact us by calling 336-338-7769 or send us an email. Protect your rights starting today. Se habla español.